THE BLACK KETTLE

Proverbs 21:30

NPR Reporter: Kiss from Fidel Castro’s Brother Felt Like ‘Blessing of the Holy Trinity’

By Tim Graham

Penny Starr at CNSNews.com found an appalling example of journalistic fawning over the Castro brothers of communist Cuba on Wednesday’s All Things Considered, the evening newscast of taxpayer-subsidized National Public Radio.

Ramon Castro, the older brother of Fidel and Raul Castro, died last week at age 91. NPR reporter Lourdes Garcia-Navarro warmly recalled his sense of humor from going to a party in Havana for American business people (despite the ongoing trade embargo).

“I walk into this lush, beautiful villa, and I am introduced to Ramon Castro,” Garcia-Navarro said on air. “And it’s kind of jarring because even though he was Fidel’s older brother, he looks a lot like him. As he’s presented to me, he leans over and gives me a kiss on one cheek and says, this is from Raul, kisses me on the other cheek and says, this is from me, and then he kisses me on the forehead and says, this is from Fidel.”

Then came the jaw-dropper: “It was kind of like getting the blessing of the Holy Trinity.”

[…]

MORE

February 29, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

