THE BLACK KETTLE

Proverbs 21:30

I Am A Child Survivor of the Holocaust

Malka:

[Editor's Note: tonight marks the beginning of Yom HaShoah, the commemoration of the Holocaust.]

I am a child survivor, and went through the destruction of a defenseless people by an enemy called Nazism.

Now, the blood of Israel flows in its streets. A second wave of Nazism breaks over us. And I hear phrases of blame like “cycles of violence,” “ending the occupation,” as if something we were doing, rather than our very existence were responsible for attacks against us.

I hear lies, distortions, self-serving versions of history. Occupation? Years ago when there was no occupation, what did they do? They murdered our athletes at the Olympics; they hijacked planes; they pushed a man in a wheelchair off a ship into the sea. What excuse will they use when there is no occupation again?

As a survivor of the Holocaust, I can no longer suppress my rage. I must express this rage without any restraint. Then I can go in peace.

The form that my rage takes is a question.

What would have happened had the Jewish people, as of V-E Day, behaved like the Palestinians?

The answer is bitterly obvious.

[...]

MORE

April 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

